Junior BowlerVale of Leven Club Junior Section

With the increased popularity back in the halcyon days of the 80s and 90s the rules were changed to allow juniors onto the greens for the very first time. For a number of years we had a very successful junior section. Many of these juniors, not least Gordon Baxter and Alan Bruce have gone on to have very successful senior careers, both of them having been capped by the county (West Dumbartonshire).

In recent years the membership of the junior section dwindled to the point that we now have no juniors and indeed no players aged under 25. The last time the under 18 championship was contested was back in 2004.

The problem is not just with bowls. Golf clubs and some other sports clubs have seen the same lack of interest in traditional sport and games. Sadly, young people no longer seem to have the desire to become involved in organisations such as ours.

The problem has been recognised and clubs are being encouraged to promote the game to the young people who are our future. In 2015 the Vale BC introduced basic coaching sessions for children from the adjacent Christie Park primary School.

Several members gave up their time to attend these sessions offering introductory bowls coaching to the kids. This seemed to go down well and it is planned to continue this. Hopefully this can help turn the situation around.

The table below lists previous junior prize winners.


Year Morrison Ritchie Cup
Scott Grant Cup
Round Robin
Alex Muir Award
Most Improved Player
1986 B. Weir G. Baxter -
1987 G. Baxter R. Milne -
1988 G. Baxter G. Baxter -
1989 K. Baxter I. Ross -
1990 K. Baxter S. MacCallum -
1991 G. Shearer K. Baxter -
1992 S. Readhead D. McCarry -
1993 C. Mullholland C. Ritchie -
1994 S. Ledgerwood C. Cosham -
1995 C. Lewsley K. McGowan -
1996 A. Bruce K. McGowan -
1997 A. Bruce A. Bruce -
1998 A. Rodger A. Bruce -
1999 No Competition A. Bruce B. Hutton
2000 A. Bruce A. Bruce S. Keenan
2001 S. Keenan S. Keenan A. Walls
2002 S. Keenan S. Keenan C. Duncan
2003 A. Walls C. Duncan C. Sinclair
2004 C. Sinclair C. Duncan R. McKenzie

Page Back Button